ILCAC Awards McCartor Fellowships

Washington, DC – The International Light Cone Advisory Committee (ILCAC), incorporated in the Commonwealth of Virginia in 2008 under SURA sponsorship, continued its McCartor Fellowship program by awarding three young scientists at its annual conference in LC2024 held at the Huizhou campus of the Institute of Modern Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences (IMPCAS) from November 25 to 29, 2024.

The LC2024 allowed ILCAC to award three promising young physicists: Dr. Zhi Hu, who is currently a postdoctoral researcher at Institute of Particle and Nuclear Studies, High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (KEK), supervised by Prof. Xingbo Zhao for his Ph.D at University of Chinese Academy of Sciences; Dr. Poonam Choudhary, who is a postdoctoral researcher at Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, supervised by Prof. Dipankar Chakrabarti for her PhD at Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur; Dr. Wenyang Qian, who is a postdoctoral researcher at University of Santiago de Compostela, supervised by Prof. James Vary at Iowa State University. All three awardees participated in the LC2024 and presented their recent research works in the McCartor Award Session.

The Chair of the ILCAC, Prof. Chueng-Ryong Ji, and the Chair of the LC2024, Prof. Xingbo Zhao, cosigned the Award Certificates which were presented to the three awardees in the McCartor Award Session. This Award was named after the Late Professor Gary McCartor to honor his achievements and leadership efforts with the aim of the program in assisting promising young scientists in pursuing light-front related research.

LC2024 attracted 159 registered participants, including many young researchers who attended this annual meeting for the first time. Judging from the number of youthful attendees, the competition for next year's McCartor Fund Fellowships will be as keen as ever.



Photo taken after the McCartor Award Session. Three awardees are shown with the Chairs of LC2024 and ILCAC.