



## Joint Press Release

Tuesday, June 12, 2018 For Immediate Release For more information contact: Elizabeth L. Lawson, Asst. Secretary, ILCAC elawson@sura.org; 202-408-7872

## **ILCAC Awards McCartor Fund Fellowships**

Washington, DC – The International Light Cone Advisory Committee (ILCAC), incorporated in the Commonwealth of Virginia in 2008 under SURA sponsorship, continued its McCartor Fund Fellowship program by awarding travel grants to seven young scientists at its annual meeting at Jefferson Lab in Newport News, Virginia, May 14-18, 2018.

The McCartor Fund Fellowship program is funded by generous gifts from Sheila McCartor, Gary McCartor's widow, Gary's friends, and colleagues. The McCartor Fund Fellowship program received additional support from this year's Light Cone meeting at Jefferson Lab, Old Dominion University, and Argonne National Lab. Funding support was also provided through the Jefferson Science Associates (JSA) Initiatives Fund program. JSA is the management and operating contractor for the U.S. Department of Energy's Jefferson Lab where the meeting was hosted.

The support for LC2018 allowed ILCAC to award McCartor Fellowships to seven promising young physicists: Ms. Sofia Leitão, who is currently a Ph.D. student at Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisbon, supervised by Profs. Teresa Peña and Alfred Stadler; Mr. Jacob Ethier, who just defended his Ph.D. dissertation at College of William and Mary, supervised by Prof. Wally Melnitchouk and will join soon Nikhef as a postdoc; Mr. Kamil Serafin, who is currently a Ph.D. student at University of Warsaw, supervised by Prof. Stan Glazek; Mr. Tanmay Maji, who is currently a Ph.D. student at Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, supervised by Prof. Dipankar Chakrabarti; Dr. Cédric Mezrag, who received his Ph.D. at Université Paris 11, supervised by Prof. Herve Moutarde, and is currently a postdoc at Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare (INFN) in Rome; Dr. Adam Freese, who received his Ph.D. at Florida International University, supervised by Prof. Misak Sargsian, and is currently a postdoc at Argonne National Lab; Dr. Guangyao Chen, who received his Ph.D. at Texas A&M University, supervised by Rainer Fries, and joined the faculty at Georgia State University after working last few years at Iowa State University as a postdoc. Dr. Chen's 2017 scholarship was deferred to this year due to travel difficulties.

During the conference, Prof. James Vary, chair of the fundraising committee and member of the ILCAC Board of Directors, reviewed the aims of the McCartor Fund Fellowship program in assisting promising young scientists in pursuing light-front related research. Prof. Vary commented, "Gary not only provided scientific leadership for our field but was very active in developing support for young scientists. In particular, he participated in conceptualizing this fund to provide training and travel support enabling young scientists to develop their expertise and contribute to forefront physics research. This fund was founded after his death and is named for him to honor his achievements and leadership efforts."

On behalf of ILCAC and LC2018, Prof. Chueng Ji and Prof. Wally Melnitchouk jointly presented the fellowship award certificates to the seven awardees.

LC2018 attracted 104 participants, including many young researchers who attended this annual meeting for the first time. Judging from the number of youthful attendees, and their excellent presentations, the competition for next year's McCartor Fund Fellowships will be as keen as ever.



Gary McCartor Award recipients with LC2018 organizers and ILCAC members Clockwise from the front right: Kamil Serafin, Sofia Leitão, Jacob Ethier, Tanmay Maji, Cédric Mezrag, Guangyao Chen, Chueng Ji, James Vary, Cedric Lorce, Stan Brodsky, Anuradha Misra, Ben Bakker, Wayne Polyzou, Tobias Frederico, Gianni Salme, Wally Melnitchouk, Stan Glazek, and Wojciech Broniowski.

###

The Southeastern Universities Research Association (SURA) is a consortium of over 60 leading research institutions in the southern United States and the District of Columbia established in 1980 as a non-stock, nonprofit corporation. SURA serves as an entity through which colleges, universities, and other organizations may cooperate with one another, and with government and industry in acquiring, developing, and using laboratories and other research facilities and in furthering knowledge and the application of that knowledge in the physical, biological, and other natural sciences and engineering. For more information, visit <a href="https://www.sura.org">www.sura.org</a>.

ILCAC, Inc., incorporated in 2008 under the sponsorship of SURA, advances research in quantum field theory, particularly light-cone quantization methods applicable to the solution of physical problems. To fulfill its mission, ILCAC sponsors conferences, workshops, and institutes devoted to quantum field theory and various subfields of physics; and provides research fellowships for PhD work, and funds sabbatical leave programs for researchers in these fields. For more information, visit <a href="https://www.ilcacinc.org">www.ilcacinc.org</a>.